Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. To what extent do you agree or disagree

These days children are encouraged to learn at least one non native expression in school. Some professionals are of the opinion that studying a foreign pronunciation in the early formative years of life is better than learning it later. Although there are benefits of studying a foreign word in primary school, it also comes with its own drawbacks. This essay will discuss its advantages and disadvantages. The main advantage of children learning foreign languages during their primary education is that they will acquire new knowledge. The sound is known to be a part of one’s culture and society. Thus, learning languages from other parts of the world avails children with the opportunity of being part of a different culture, because they get to understand the culture of people from other countries. For example, in Nigeria, most children are taught French in primary education. This enables them to speak the word, learn the music, art and dressing of people in France. In addition, during the formative years the human brain is more receptive to new languages. Therefore, young children are endowed with the ability to learn languages faster than older children. For instance, a 6 year old boy will adopt a foreign vocabulary quicker than a teenager. It is clear to say that there are benefits of learning non native pronunciation during primary education. However, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits due to the following reasons. The first is, most primary learning centres have curriculum riddled with many subjects that are compulsory for students, so making them study a foreign style increases the number of courses they need to learn. Consequently, it leads to them being physically and emotionally stressed because some cannot cope with the workload, and may cause them to fail in other important areas. Furthermore, some non-native languages are quite difficult to master. For example, Chinese is relatively harder to learn than French, and as a result of this younger minds may find it difficult to comprehend. Also, because it is not generally spoken by people in their country, parents may likely not speak or understand it. Thereby hindering young children from having a full command of it because they cannot get extra tutoring at home. Finally, older children in secondary schools enjoy the autonomy of choosing the desired vernacular they want to learn and therefore are more committed to studying it than the younger ones. In conclusion, Although there are advantages of learning a different sound in primary institution than secondary academy, I believe the disadvantages seem to be more than the benefits.