In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Over the past ten years, air travel has risen significantly due to low cost, airline budgets and the growing need for international travel for work, education and tourism. While it has positive and negative effects, I believe that it is largely beneficial. The primary reason behind this rise is affordability. At present, many airlines provide competitive prices that everyone can afford. Secondly, time efficient, travel by plane saves people time and energy. For instance, as compared to the train or other modes of transport it is a quick way of travelling. Furthermore, for education, there are increased demand for studying abroad which imparted new experiences and cultural diversity. Many people choose travelling for personal experience and happiness. Another noticeable factor is tourism, many Governments promote their countries' tourist destinations to boost the economy and improve infrastructure. Moreover, social media also play a crucial role in promoting tourism, influences on social sites portray exotic holidays and for many people exploring different locations has new possessions over material possessions. For example, before planning a vacation, people search on Instagram for different locations and select from there by seeing other photos. Despite some concerns such as environmental impact, its benefits outweigh the drawbacks. It increased the country's economy and cultural exchange. Rise in the number of jobs in tourism and aviation. Government investing in greener technology. reduced carbon emissions and fuel-efficient aircraft to mitigate the damage. In conclusion, air travel has driven the cultural exchange, globalisation and availability of jobs. Although, environmental concerns exist. Overall, its benefits surpass the demerits as it connects people all over the world.