Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. 1. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? 2. Has this become a positive or negative development.

Modern technology is definitely one of mankind's most significant accomplishments, and its benefits to the human race are numerous. It has tremendously altered the way we form relationships. This essay will discuss its influence on how we relate with others and its detrimental effects on relationships. Newer technology has introduced a variety of cutting-edge devices which has helped us to live life with ease. For example, in our world today a large proportion of people own cell phones which have allowed us to exchange information with our loved ones via text messages or social media. As a result of this, communication is more efficient than the antecedent way of sending letters which was quite tedious. In addition, we can now find prospective life partners on dating applications like tinder, and it also allows us to network with a large community of individuals, with whom we share common interests. However, despite its seemingly captivating advantages, its negative impacts cannot be overlooked. To begin with, social media have encouraged cellphone addiction amongst users and thus, they may opt out of a conventional one-on-one meeting because of emergent video conferencing applications like zoom or Skype. As a result of this, the plague of social isolation is spreading like wildfire, and this is evident in Britain, where approximately 70% of middle aged and elderly citizens are supposedly suffering from loneliness. In conclusion, although technical advancement has been beneficial to promoting the role of communication in the way we relate, it has also had adverse effects on them. I hope that while steps are being taken to improve our society, more measures will also be enforced to prevent its consequences.