An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, due to ease of access and economical internet packages, a lot of people spend most of their time on the internet. The social media sites have minimized distances and brought people closer that is, having both positive and negative impacts on society and individuals. To begin with, Some people believe that the internet is playing a very important role in uniting nations and develop respect for each other. Through social media sites, now people can have friends from different countries that are living in different circumstances. It helps them to learn about other cultures and practice foreign languages. People having similar interests can share their viewpoints and learn from each other. Any professional can explore and avail online job opportunities from across the globe. Moreover, people can observe the solutions that other nations used to resolve their issues and practice them for the betterment of their own country. On the other hand, it is commonly believed by many people that the internet is making people materialistic and selfish. They prefer to chat and have face to face discussions with their foreign friends or relatives, while ignoring their parents, neighbours and close relatives. This way the relationships are losing their value and respect. The immature young students often waste hours in having useless discussions with other people over the internet. Sometimes they also develop habits or practice traditions that are not acceptable according to their own religion and social values. People are becoming lazy, instead of doing practical work and contributing to society, they just keep on posting irrelevant material on the internet that spoils them and other people as well. I personally believe that the internet is one of the greatest inventions of technology that is helping people to globalize and broaden their vision. They are becoming patient enough to listen differing point of views and develop understanding. When a student goes abroad for higher education, then he then he can easily connect with his family, friends and relative in the native country. The internet has become a platform for young generation to know about things happening in their country, share their ideas and work together to resolve any issues. However, the excessive use of it should be discouraged. To conclude, it is certainly true that the internet users are increasing day by day. Some people are using it to learn and acquire knowledge while others are wasting their energy in having useless discussions with other people. In my opinion, social media sites itself do not have any side effects, but a moderate and wise use of it is required.