Traditionally, elderly people have lived with and been cared for by younger family members. In modern society, more and more elderly people are living in special homes for the elderly. Why do you think families choose to have their elderly relatives live in special homes away from family? What do you think is the best way for modern families to care for their elderly relatives?

In old times, where elderly used to stay with the young members of the family to get proper care, in modern society, this approach is going to be replaced with special homes for the elderly. I believe, due to working life and facilities available in such places, families are choosing these; owing to which, it can be considered the best way to look after the older ones. To begin with, the most important reason why modern families have chosen special homes for the elderly is their busy work life. Because adults and children of the families have their own agenda be it study or work, they have less time to spend with older members so these special homes can be a good option for them to provide adequate care to elderly. For example, a survey conducted by The Guardian Newspaper in March 2015 published that 40% of the people were keenly interested in the special homes for elderly stay because they were not able to look after them properly. In addition, the facilities like medical help and fitness activities available at such homes are not only good for old age people to stay healthy but also give a safe and secure atmosphere. Hence, these are the prominent reasons behind this phenomenon. Further, this trend of old age people’s stay at elderly homes can be the most adequate option to be adopted by modern families. I advocate the thought because of the generational gap. To elucidate, if the elderly live with young members, they may interfere in their activities and it may create conflicts. For example, working or studying requires more time on technological devices whereas the elderly can put some restrictions on it, which will not be suitable and possible for new generations. Moreover, they can feel bored at home when adults are busy with their schedules. In such special homes, they interact with their own age people who can understand them well and can be good companions as well. To conclude, it is unequivocal that this new trend of special homes as staying option for the elderly is the best one for both old and young members of the modern family.