It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

In today’s world, science has witnessed dropped attendance in tertiary education. Ingrained in this essay is the chief culprits behind this phenomenon, in conjunction with dire consequences, both of which will be elaborated below. Factors behind the reduced popularity of science are numerous, one of which is associated with low occupational practicality. A host of graduates confronts unemployment on account of impaired employability and stiff job competition. This means that many of them, in place of working in their fields of expertise, resort to irrelevant jobs such as waiter, waitress and sales clerk to make ends meet. Another significant reason why students nowadays are less tempted to opt for science as a major is that the highly intricate subjects aren't solely making science degree onerous to complete, but also leaves students no room for rest, which induces prolonged fatigue and even stress-related health issues. Thus, such is the complexity of science courses that youngsters categorically dismiss it. A shortage of learners in science fields has exerted a myriad of devastating implications. First, notwithstanding limited job vacancies, a significantly mounting number of students are choosing economics and business to study. Thus, many graduates would have to face unemployment.. Second, science research will be far and few between, thereby diminishing the likelihood of life-changing inventions, which may hinder the development in people's life quality. For instance, it would be tremendously challenging for humans to produce newer smartphones with better functions. In conclusion, atrocious occupational prospects and the inherent difficulty, of course completion deter young people from choosing science to study, which will have detrimental impacts on human’s life. Hence, the government should take steps to encourage students to pursue the science fields.