Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

No one can deny the fact that many people are of the view that unpaid charity programmes should be included in tertiary education in spite of the contradictory opinions that other people may bear. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view as it will allow youngsters gain invaluable social skills and to help the community. To begin with, working in charity gives undergraduates essential skills that they need when they join with the industry after passing out from universities. This means, when these youngsters engage in these types of programmes, they are able to learn how to work with people and identify ideal solutions for the problems which may arise while working. Many state universities in Sri Lanka, for instance, have included optional endowment modules in the academic programme so that interested students could subscribe. Teachers in these institutions claim that the followers of these activities often show a good commitment to work compared to others when they join the industry. In addition, this phenomenon will be beneficial for children who are not able to afford money for their tuition fees. In other words, these juveniles have the opportunity to learn the subject matters without paying for people who are experts on these subjects. Besides, this will pave the way for all children in society to explore the horizons of education. For example, it is proven that many adolescents in Tamilnadu are not able to attend to a school owing to burning problems such as poverty. Therefore, the addition of these kinds of charitable works for university modules will be a great relief for some children in the community. In conclusion, I think, the inclusion of community services to high school programmes will allow students to get required skills which may shine them once they pass out from colleges, and this will also be helpful to a certain part of the public to gain knowledge without monetary barriers.