The use of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter are replacing face- to- face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media is becoming more and more popular, so it is easy for people to contact online with the others instead of contacting directly. However, social networking has both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I will explain two of logical perspectives. On the one hand, one of the main advantages of the social media is connecting. It strengthens bonds with your loved ones. Distance is not a barrier anymore because of social media. For instance, you can easily communicate with your friends and relatives overseas. Moreover, we can find up-to-date information, make new friends and exchange knowledge in several aspects with others by the fastest and easiest way, such as by using Facebook, Twitter and Instargram. On the other hand, some people claim that using social media overly will cause many risks. Firstly, social media can exacerbate feelings of disconnect and even lack of communication skills. The reason is the lack of interaction with the environment. This can lead to outrageous behaviours both in the young and the old. Secondly, people have a tendency to squander a long time on using social devices, but they do not acknowledge that they exert severe impacts on their physical health. For example, using a mobile phone or computer for much of the day is a sedentary lifestyle which leads to obesity, gout and high blood pressure. In conclusion, I would argue that the benefits of social media outweigh the downsides, especially in our life today in which technology is a dispensable part.