Mobile phones and the internet could have many benefits for older adults. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for older adults of using mobile phones and the internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology?

There has been rapid development in digital devices over the past 20 years. Older generations tend to use technology the least. However, innovations can support them to have a better quality of living in terms of shopping or getting medical treatment. Providing detailed support and explanation for its usefulness is the way to encourage these generations to be familiar with developed technology. Using technological devices can be an unfamiliar experience for elders. Even so, it is undeniable that phones and the internet offer a range of services to improve their life. One possible convenience the elderly can experience is online shopping. Many retired generations, for example, experience hardship in walking or driving regularly to shops and carry heavy bags of daily necessities. By using the internet and smart devices, they can get the staff they need without actually visiting the shop. Another outcome is the medical treatment. Although it may lack some accuracy, people can get medical services online by explaining the symptoms through video calls. This service benefits older generations to easily tackle their health concerns. To let elders use these services, several methods can be taken. First, detailed support can be provided by the company to make the user experience more comfortable. Considering that aged people often get confused by the system itself, mechanical support is essential. Secondly, promoting the benefits of using the services can attract customers. Older generations are not well-educated about these topics, thus, explanation is a key to ease their anxiety. For example, Docomo, a Japanese company that provides internet services, often holds a workshop for elders to explain the benefits and the risks of using smart devices. In conclusion, this essay considers the benefits of using advanced technologies to be online shopping and getting medical treatment. To motivate the aged generation to use phones and the internet, detailed support must be provided with a deep explanation on the benefits of the service.