The use of cell phones has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Although smartphones are considered by some to be an essential part in a number of areas of modern life, other people consider them to cause more harm than good. In my opinion, albeit cell phones may present certain advantages, these are outweighed when associated health problems and the possibility of addiction are considered. Admittedly, there are some basic methods of application of ubiquitous mobile phones. Among these are reaching someone, instantly by calling or texting them, as well as with the advance of internet technology, getting access to information more easily than ever before. Cell phones give people a chance to stay connected with their friends and relatives at all times. For instance, by using different messengers, people do not even need to spend a lot of money to be in contact with their loved ones. Nevertheless, despite the advantages mentioned above, I believe that by using mobile phones, people have lost more than they have gained. One of the most serious drawbacks of smartphones is increasing addiction, especially among children, as they tend to use phones as a means of entertainment. Not only does this cause distraction from real life, but also it provokes adverse health effects, such as brain tumours or DNA damage, blurred vision, and even back pains. According to research, carrying cell phones in front pockets is believed to be connected with higher rates of miscarriage and childhood cancer. In conclusion, the benefits of using smartphones as a means of communication are overshadowed by their drawbacks that could result in severe health issues caused by excessive use of phones in everyday life.