In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Health problems associated with fast food are not new. In the late eighties, since the appearance and worldwide expansion of fast food chains like Mc Donalds and Burger King, the population has had access to cheap, fast and good tasting products leading to problems in cardiovascular diseases, among others.. At the same time, education programmes regarding eating habits have not improved and our style of life has become more frenetic, leaving us with little time to make good choices. Recent studies from the WHO (World Health Organization) suggest that there is a clear connection between the expansion of fast food chains, the average wages and the time people take to cook, surveyed in the United States and Canada. The access to cheap, tasty and fast food has become a daily menu for the 35 per cent of the society in these Countries., including Office Workers, labourers and students. The study shows that people surveyed has little education regarding feed facts and compositions, and thus, poor healthy eating habits. Governments are concerned about this global phenomenon and are planning to impose higher taxes on this kind of food, in order to encourage people to reduce its comsupmtion and at the same time having a larger amount of funds available to make better marketing campaigns to reach diverse audiences. I believe this focus is necessary for a vast majority of the population needs to be well educated about what they eat, and this could be addressed partially through better campaigns. Nevertheless, a better way of becoming more conscious from early ages and having a healthier population could be done through school programmes that shape good habits from the very beginning preventing diseases and health problems. In conclusion, higher taxes on fast food would help, but early education on eating habits is more important in order to prevent illnesses, becoming a more efficient solution.