The use of corporal punishment (physically hitting students) in schools is in decline, yet it should be used to improve behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The current modern education system has been changing over the decades, especially in the last one. It is claimed that physical abuse may improve the behaviour of students, however, I completely disagree with this statement. Firstly, we should understand the factors why teachers have been driven to the use of corporal punishment. The first factor is discipline, they have to keep the environment appropriate for educational purposes. The second factor is that they believe it will improve their behaviour. For example, the energy level of children is quite high, they are supercharged. Hence, teachers should keep their focus on the study materials. Since hitting physically is scared by pupils, the easiest method of keeping the environment under control is corporal abuse. On the other hand, this is an inappropriate way of getting their attention. Recent studies have proven that physical abuse could cause behavioural problems in their personalities because it will suppress their emotions. In addition to that, the moral of the student that is punished in a crowded place might cause psychological issues such as trauma. Nevertheless, the authority in the classroom needs to be maintained as well. To do that, teachers should find a creative way of punishing by considering the moral and psychological aspects without any physical touch. For instance, additional homework, some mandatory sport, art, and charity activities could be the right choice, so that they will be also educated from different perspectives and this will improve their personality. In conclusion, corporal punishment has to be avoided, but the abandonment of the discipline system is not going to provide correct training culture to our next generations. There should be a soft disciplinary system rather than physical.