Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Climate change represents a major threat to our life on Earth. Some people argue that we need to accept it rather than try to stop it. I completely disagree with this statement as I believe that we still have time to tackle this issue by considering governments and individual contribution to it and reduce the human impact on Earth's climate. With regards to governments, I think that there are various measures that governments can take to prevent, or at least mitigate, climate change. Firstly, governments could introduce laws to limit the carbon dioxide emission that leads to global warming. They should impose 'green taxes' on drivers, airline companies, and other pollutants so that they are encouraged to invest in renewable energy production from water, wind and solar power. Although energy will be produced at higher costs, but this will help to reduce pollutants in the air and clean the surroundings. Furthermore, governments should speed up afforestation by planting more trees as they help to reduce the carbon dioxide level in air and clean the atmosphere. Hence governments and big businesses can help in various ways to reduce the impact of climate change on the Earth. As for individuals, they can also play a vital role in preventing effects of climate change. For instance, we should use recycled products for our daily use, as plastic causes hazardous effects on the environment. I think we should use paper bags instead of plastic bags. This is because plastic causes harmful effects on Earth, especially in the oceans as it is not easily decomposed, and impact aquatic species badly. In addition to this, we can also try to limit our contribution to climate change by becoming energy efficient, by flying less, using bicycles and public transports. Therefore, individuals should also be encouraged to help in mitigating effects of climate change as they are effective. In conclusion, it is my firm belief that if governments and individuals come together, we can address the problem of climate change, instead of trying to find ways to live with it.