Parents, usually mothers, give up the work, choose to stay home and look after the family. Some people think the government should give them a salary. Do you agree or disagree? Give the reasons from your knowledge and experience.

Women often leave their career behind for bringing up / raising their children and to take care of the elder members of the family. Some people argue that the government should financially assist them to make the society equal. I disagree with this statement since it will adversely impact the national budget and influence working women in a negative way. Providing some sort of monetary assistance to women who have given up their job will put a tremendous load on the country’s financial resources. Countries such as India and Pakistan are already struggling with basic problems such as poverty and food scarcity. Hence, the ministry priority should be eradicating such issues rather than providing unemployment allowance for young mothers. Moreover, if the government decides to give a monthly salary to women who quit their job of taking care of their family, it will create resentment among other women who work a job. If they can earn a salary without going to the office, then all of them will definitely resign from their jobs to be stay-at-home mother. Eventually, the ministry will end up paying all women for staying home. Thus, obviously, providing wages for mothers who stay at home is not good for a nation’s economy. To conclude, assisting women who left their jobs to take care of their families with salaries is not a good approach. I believe that the ministry should provide them with other forms of assistance such as free medical assistance and insurance. It should also enact policies that allow young mothers to work from their home and earn a salary.