People think that countries should produce the food their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, The development of agricultural technology has created a tendency for consuming local products rather than importing. I partly agree with this since I believe that the country’s farming industry would be less diversity if the government limited importing. There are several reasons why the authorities should prioritize more self-sufficient agriculture. First, the domestic products’ price is far cheaper than imported ones. Up to date, most modern-farmers have already implemented advanced sciences & technologies into agriculture, which can help them increase the annual number of products. At the same time, the transportation costs and taxations locally are less pricey than overseas also. Because of these elements, the output is more made sure. For example, Malaysia has a relatively large domestic car manufacturing industry, becomes one of the countries with the largest car industry in Asia, the understandable reason comes from a decision that government remarkably taxes over 200% of the value of imported cars, quiet imperesively in an impressive manner impressively so that people support their domestic products. So, by self-supplying, the country could be more independent and avoid confronting many agricultural problems. I, however, still have a belief that the economic integration will be more variable by incorporating it with other countries. Japan’s farming goods, for example, are mostly imported, especially animal products, because the hazardous geographic and weather conditions do not let local farmers do livestock freely. But, by importing and hybridizing, Japanese agricultural scientists have successfully increased the annual output of species such as cows, pigs which were extremely scarce previously. If Japan had rejected trade with other nations, it couldn't have become one of the largest agricultural markets in the world. Thus, importing is the best way to vary local agriculture. In conclusion, even though we can't deny the benefit of self-sufficiency, to have more alternative agricultural products, trading with other countries is necessary. With this argument, I personally think that this form of combination will be a general trend of economic development policies of countries in the world.