Some people say economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger, while others say economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. (Society)

There is an ongoing debate about whether economic growth is the sole way to tackle poverty and hunger in society or whether economic growth is straining the environment. From my perspective, I believe both ideas have valid points and this essay will give a discussion and personal opinion. On the one hand, economic development has a positive impact on society's problems, leading to better living standards. Firstly, economic progress results in more job opportunities for the bottom-class citizens who cannot find stable jobs. Those opportunities help people get stable financial resources, which can help them to feed their families and improve their fundamental demands. Secondly, the government can allocate more budget to help people who suffer from hunger. For instance, in America, many campaigns and charity organizations have been established by the government to support homeless and unemployed people with food and shelter. However, economic improvement leads to environmental problems, like deforestation and harming wildlife. Specifically, pursuing the development of the economy pushes many companies to expand their factories to produce more products, which means they have to clear the woods and agricultural spaces to place their factory. This may lead to habitat loss and badly affect creatures. Moreover, to maximize profit, many companies refuse to obey environmental regulations and use illegal methods to achieve their goals. For example, many firms do not install appropriate systems to filter hazardous chemical substances in their waste, resulting in polluting water and harming people's well-being. In conclusion, although economic development has shown some negative effects on the environment, however, the financial support for society is undeniable. It gives people sufficient income to overcome their difficulties and also helps people feed themselves better. On the other hand, firms and organizations should follow regulations to maintain the level of risk to the environment. I believe economic development will be far more beneficial to society.