In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Unlike in the past, these days more and more students study abroad. In this essay I will examine the benefits and downsides of this trend and provide my overall opinion. From an overall perspective, there are several advantages of study overseas. Perhaps the main advantages of this is having better education opportunities than their home country. In other words, developed countries have better education facilities than any other developing countries. Tutors in these countries are well trained and famous in their field. Another point in favour of this is that students can thrive a self-reliance and a sense of independence. I will give an example of myself. When I was a university student, I have been to Germany for an exchange program. Until that year, I had never been to an another country, which was my first experience with living another place. Although, It lasted only 6 months, it contributed me many skills such as coping with the difficulties and decision making on its my own. On the other hand, there are various disadvantages to studying overseas. One of one most obvious of these is culture shock. Students may suffer from culture shock and struggle to adapt to a new culture. The situation can become worse if the student is not mature enough to cope by themselves. Being away from home and family support may result in feeling alone and depressed. In conclusion, as with many topics, there are both positives and negatives. If a student is presented with this opportunity, they should certainly seize it.