In today's world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, a substantial amount of scientific research is funded and conducted by private corporations instead of the government. Despite the drawback of this trend, I would argue that its benefits are more considerable. On the one hand, one major disadvantage when a growing number of private companies are involved in scientific research projects is that the innovations or inventions might be commercialized. The main goal of these companies is to invest in profitable fields and earn profits. Thus, once scientists have come up with new medicines or drugs, these products might be sold at a higher price compared to those produced and sold by governmental bodies. This, in turn, makes these products inaccessible to a certain proportion of citizens, especially the impoverished, which gradually exacerbates the gap between the rich and the poor in society. Regardless of the demerit mentioned above, I suppose that it is negligible in comparison with some anticipated merits of this development. First, owing to huge funding from companies in the private sector, scientific projects can be carried out effectively, and remarkable results can be expected in a shorter period. Besides, the scientists engaging in these projects can benefit from this greatly thanks to higher remuneration packages and other benefits. Second, in some nations, such as Vietnam, whose transparency in terms of funding for science and how the amount is allocated remains a major concern, a majority of citizens find it hard for the research to receive sufficient subsidies from the state, thus unable to produce desirable results. In conclusion, albeit the potential of commercialization of science, it seems to me that the upsides of the participation of private organizations in scientific research make this an advantageous and positive development.