Nowdays, many people have to work long time, and they feel more stressful than before. What are the reasons? What employers can do to make their life easier?

Nowadays most people are working extra hours at the cost of their mental and physical health, to make both ends meet. This is mainly attributed to the global recession noticed post-pandemic, resulting in lowered salaries and raised insecurity among workers about their job stability. This essay will further explain these reasons and discuss how nurturing a healthy work environment and an empathetic approach by organizational management can help reduce this stress among employees. Firstly, workmen tend to overwork to earn more money and to please their managers. The biggest example could be the recent pandemic which resulted in the downfall of the worldwide economy, causing many businesses to shut down, various organizations to reduce their manpower, and multiple corporates to cut down the wages of their employees, in order to sustain. While this instilled a sense of insecurity among wage-earners, it also changed the mindset of employers, who started linking the honesty of their workers to their ability to do overtime. This rat race of working extra hours to ensure job security did not come for free. Recently, the highest data of stress-related diseases has been reported and it is only expected to rise with time, and is mainly due to low wages and high cost of living witnessed in the current employment market. However, the above issues can be easily addressed by promoting an ethical work culture and a compassionate approach towards employees. If the performance of a worker was to be gauged by his ability to achieve goals and have the task done, rather than by the number of working hours, he would not only be able to keep a healthy work-life balance but would also put his maximum efforts to exceed the expectations of the company. Additionally, bosses should also be empathetic towards their workers. For example, providing these manpower with all the operational resources, acknowledging and appreciating their efforts and honesty, and understanding the reasons for under-performance, could be some of the measures a company may take to give mental security to its workers. In conclusion, job scarcity, insecurity, and instability are common issues in the modern world's work sectors, which can be overcome by being more mindful towards others. The growth of an organization is possible only by teamwork and the collective efforts of all individuals. Finally, I believe that the number of anxiety-related illnesses could be greatly reduced by promoting a healthy corporate atmosphere.