Some people think that music plays an important role in society. Others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are wide and controversial views about whether music is only practical for entertainment or actually has a significant role in our lives. In this essay, both perceptions will be examined and ultimately I will represent my own perspective. On the one hand, many people are of the opinion that music is only practical to entertain people. They think the only purpose of music is to keep people busy. For instance, during the weekends when everyone is away from work they can attend concerts to fill their spare time. Moreover, when people have great significant amount of time, they can start learning musical instruments. Thus, there will be occupied and since learning an instrument needs constant practice and requires a great amount of time, they have less spare time to devoid it to unhealthy activities such as smoking and so on. On the other hand, it is very lucid and clear that one of the major functions of music is that to create an atmosphere where we can find our comfort and relation there. It has been said constantly, music has an incredible impact on our feelings. For instance, music with mellow rhythms can amazingly soothe us. In other words, music is highly capable of altering our feelings and our moods. Additionally, many people find it very satisfied and enjoyable listening to their favourite music while they are running their errands. Furthermore, many doctors and psychologists believe that using music is highly effective on curing patents, therefore they use as a therapy to treat their patients suffer from mental sicknesses. In my view, music provides us more than entertainment. Our spiritual rituals are framed with songs. It brings us a situation that we can forget our problems, at least for some minutes. Based on aforementioned, music can be very useful in treatments. According to conducted researches, it is proven that music is highly effective in treating especially for those who are suffering from depression or other mental diseases. So, in a nutshell, music plays a crucial role in our lives. To conclude, despite its amusing function, we should take importance of music on our feelings into consideration too.