Some people believe that restoration of old building costs too much. We should demolish them and build new one instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Buildings contribute to one of the most attractive attributes of sight seeing while visiting a new country or place. For this topic to be debated upon, I comply with both. The reason, why I agree to the fact that older buildings can be knocked down instead of refurbishing it is because, if some buildings, especially office spaces or homes that are in devastated conditions like for instance the bricks are broken, heavily attacked by termites, plumbing and electrical items heavily rusted or that are in poor condition. Buildings that are hard to survive any natural calamities in the near future should be destroyed because, the occupants will be highly affected physically and mentally in living in a place that does not provide positive energy. However, on the contrary, old buildings like monuments or ancient buildings or skyscrapers built by kings and legends are worth the repair because, we maintain the legacy of a country or a city that remains as a significant attraction for the future. I would like to conclude by saying, even though cost plays an important factor in deciding whether a building has to be built from scratch or renovated, the point is to identify what is the reason for a building to exist, is it the beauty or to maintain a legacy.