Some people think that staying in hotels is not a good option to know about a country or its people. What do you think about this viewpoint?

As travelling has become more affordable, people tend to put more thought into what to do and where to stay during their trip. While some people prefer hotels, many think that staying in hotels may ruin the chance to get to know more about the locals. I find this argument unconvincing because it is not about where you choose to stay, but how you interact with local people. To begin with, many people are in favour of local home stay, for they think living with the locals gives them the opportunities to learn about the local lifestyle, traditions, and customs. For example, a tourist might find it fascinating to celebrate Tet holiday- the most important holiday in Vietnam- with the host family while learning about traditional foods and getting dressed like a Vietnamese. However, staying at a home stay is not always the best idea. A lot of tourists have reported being scammed by the local hosts as their advertising posts are often misleading and inaccurate. Will you be interested in learning more about the country when the first thing you experience there is being scammed? On the other hand, living in hotels does not limit your chance to expand your knowledge about the country’s culture and its people. Hotels are often not only safer, but also provide better services, including well-equipped rooms and friendly and knowledgeable staff. There is no doubt that only when feeling secured about the accommodation, will people truly enjoy the experience as a whole. Moreover, while enjoying the luxury facilities, people can go on tours, provided by the hotel, to discover the place. Joining these tours, tourists can learn about the local culture from experienced staff. In conclusion, whether you choose to stay in a hotel or a local home stay does not affect how you learn about the locals. Either choice can bring opportunities for you to get a better understanding of the place and its people.