A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

A healthy and happy community is the backbone of a nation. Therefore, some people believed that the authorities must invest its money on the defence of the country in spite of spending more money on social advantages. It is always debatable. I agree to some extent with it and I will discuss both viewpoints in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, in some specific cases, maintaining security is an initial obligation, because it lays a solid foundation for the stability of a country. For instance, archipelagoes are usually invaded So military in those places should be invested to avoid any possible war. Besides, higher authorities should invite the developed countries to invest in a long term project and provide funding to multinational companies to open their offices in their homeland, which will not only generate more vacancies, but will improve the economy of the state. On the other hand, the government needs to subsidize for the upliftment of the weaker section of the society. Such as, Poor healthcare and education, this is a vital to narrow the inequality gap between the rich and the poor in the society. It is the administration's duty to provide the social benefits to the poor of the poor. For example, the recent Pahal scheme by the central government in India to distribute free LPG connections to the poor in villages has yielded favourable results by helping them use clean cooking gas. To conclude, it is clear that is a complex issue, while defence is a serious matter, if the leaders of a country want to ensure the health and safety of the citizen, the importance of social benefits definitely outweighs the importance of the defence.