Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree

Polythene bag usage has been increasing at the alarming rate, which can be a source of hazard to the environment. Hence, some people suggested that utilization of plastic carry bags should be prohibited by the government, which I totally agree with this opinion. To begin with, over the last few decades tons of plastic has been thrown into landfill and water bodies which pose a great threat to the ecosystem. As a result, river and ocean are choked with plastic bags, which take nearly 5000 years to decompose into microparticles. Even these microplastics are highly toxic, and if it enters the food chain, it could have a detrimental effect on human life. Furthermore, with oceans filled with plastic, aquatic life can be in danger as some wild animals like whale might swallow them accidentally, and their digestive tracts will be filled with it over the time. Consequently, this could lead to the death of marine animals and extinction of them. Besides, disposition of single-use plastics put a heavy burden on government. Due to the fact that plastics are non-biodegradable, which could last for an indefinite period of time. Therefore, when bags are buried into soil, plants will not be able to uptake the mineral, and agricultural soil will be infertile and useless. Moreover, plastic bags will produce toxic fume through incineration, which could culminate in life-threatening disease when people inhale them too frequently. In conclusion, plastic bags pose a great threat to the life of fauna and flora. Therefore, it should be banned in order to prevent hazardous effects of them.