Some people say that main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Extinction of a certain species of plants and animals is indeed a severe environmental problem as it can cause negative consequences, however, it is argued that it is not appropriate to regard it as the main problem because there are various crises that are of equal importance, and we will discuss it now. On the one hand, the supporters of animal and plants extinction crisis propose that the absence of plant or animal can result in disruption in the chain of life of the animals which can negatively affect the ecosystem. Especially, if the breed extinct turns out to be a prey, it might provoke the shortage of food for the predators and eventually causes further extinction of other species, Moreover, not only the animals but also human are afflicted by this challenge as it can be the cause of famine. Additionally, for those who rely on the existence of a certain plant or animal for their businesses may as well be in a serious situation. Finally, some herbs night be transformed into medicine; therefore, the scarcity of such plant can be detrimental to health problems. On the other hand, there are other environmental issues that should be considered more vital than the loss of species. One of the most serious crisis of our time may be the climate change since it is almost a universal consensus that this problem has an effect on every species on the planet. This issue also leads to various long-term crucial problems such as the rise in sea levels, which may be the origin of flooding and land shrinking in the future. Moreover, deforestation and drought are also needed to be recognized as major problems as they have an impact on the living standards of the mankind. For example, farmers rely on natural water bodies to do agriculture or animal breeding so lacking water can be serious to their financial status and it may affect the economy of the countries as a whole, especially in developing countries. As a consequence, these aforementioned issues can be the root of the absence of species as well as the climate change may change the ecosystem, and the loss of habitat and food may be caused by deforestation and drought. In summary, by focusing on the extinction of species by the exclusion of other problem, we run the risk of severe long-established problems that are provoked by essential issues such as climate change, deforestation and drought.