Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed , rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self- employed?

The number of individuals being self-employed has increased because many individuals find many advantages in it, e.g. more freedom and a positive work environment. While there are still some drawbacks, which are financial instability and a decrease in socialisation. There are a few advantages of being self-employed. To begin, more freedom, this can relate to when the people can schedule their work timetable themselves, what time they would like to start or how many hours of work they would like to do on that day. Also, this gives them the opportunity to work from wherever they would like. They are not required to go to the office. In addition, this also allows people to create their own positive work environment. There are many workers suffering from toxic work surroundings, for example, a biased management level or a selfish colleague. These create unfairness and unproductivity for those who work in that environment for a while. For instance, some workers get bullied about their appearance by their colleagues. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to being self-employed. Firstly, individuals can face financial instability, while working for a company or organisation guarantees a salary. This group of individuals might have freelance jobs, whose income depends on how many jobs they do. As a result, this causes a risk to their financial status. For instance, in Thailand, many individuals resign from the company, and sell clothes or skincare products on TikTok, which is hard to forecast how much they will earn each day. Next, it decreases their socialisation because working in the office encourages workers to work as a team and to communicate with each other. So, if they work for themselves, it might weaken this skill, as they mostly spend time by themselves. For example, some people might feel unconfident to work with others after a long time of being self-employed. In conclusion, being self-employed can be positive in the form of freedom and a positive work environment. In contrast, it also has some drawbacks; financial instability and a decrease in socialisation.