Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities.others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The most effective way of improving health of people is to increase the number of physical centres, according to some people, while others are against it. They believe it would have little impact and other methods should be utilised. In my opinion, this would have pronounced influence on the well-being of the general public. On the one hand, some people have the opinion and I agree that improving the sports facilities can improve the general state of well-being and well being of people as presently they are very scarcely available. These sports centres are generally located at a distance from the living areas of people so it requires energy and determination to walk to those places and perform exercises. This is very difficult in todays era as people have become lazy and prefer short cuts. Hence, the availability of gymnasiums and playgrounds in the near vicinity of housing will prompt these people to indulge in physical exercises and health of people can be very significantly improved. On the other hand, the opponents of this proposal believe that the mere presence of sports centre does not guarantee a healthy society. The government might spend a significant amount of budget on these centres and people may not visit them. This would eventually incur heavy financial losses. Hence, money should not be wasted on these sporting facilities rather the well-being of people can be improved if government pays attention to eating habits of people. They eat junk and fast foods and spend a sedentary life style. This tendency of eating junk food can be curbed by imposing tax on these chains of fast food restaurants. Resultantly, the high price of these foods will deter people from consuming them and keep individuals healthy. In conclusion, a healthy mind lies in a healthy body and these healthy brains can contribute towards the prosperity of society. It can be achieved by increasing the number of sports activities and facilities for the general public.