Some people think that formal education should start for children as early as possible. While others think that it should not start until 7 years of age. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In our modern society, the idea of beginning formal education as soon as possible for the younger generation has become a matter of discussion among the public. This tendency is quite justified to many, but irrational according to others, who advocate that it should only start when the age of the children are 7 years or older. Personally, I agree with the former view, in my opinion, the benefits of this movement are undeniable. In this essay, I shall critically examine both the points of view and outline relevant examples to support my opinion. On one hand, there are various advantages of an early formal education. Firstly, it gives ample amount of time to the students to learn new concepts and subjects. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that the children who received the formal education earlier were 5 times more likely to better understand and remember the teachings. These findings further support the argument stated above. Secondly, it provides additional time to develop and learn other important skills or hobbies that could greatly benefit later in the career. On the other hand, there are numerous benefits of holding the formal education until the age of 7 years. First of all, it prevents exposure of the children to the stressful environment at the school, which helps in a healthy mental development. In addition, some students require extra time before they are able to take on the formal education, thus by giving them ample amount of time before starting their education, it could benefit a great deal for the children with the special requirements. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I wholeheartedly stand in the support of starting the formal curriculum at an early age. In the future, we could expect to witness this topic to be debated even further in search of a conclusive answer.