Some people believe famous people’s support towards international aid organizations draws attention to problems, while others think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

From the perspective of some people, well-known celebrities’ association with international assistance programs can directly raise awareness towards certain matters of importance. Others, however, hold the opinion such a method may only bring counterproductive results. While celebrities can attract people’s attention to the problems, I would argue celebrities take away the spotlight from the actual problem, thus negatively impacting the situation. People are entitled to their own opinions, which means those who support the logic of using famous individuals to boost awareness have their own justifications to the matter. Certainly, people who are considered role models definitely have a substantial amount of influence on the community. Bill Gates, for instance, being one of the wealthiest people in the world, is currently running his own foundation, endowing and supporting a broad range of social, health, educational development and undoubtedly obtaining respect from all over the globe. Furthermore, a broader range of the population can be informed if an organization’s campaign is advertised by a popular public figure. In many parts of the world, some stars are even more recognized to the locals than the organization itself owing to their appearance in familiar events. Henceforth, the introduction of a humanitarian campaign can be further endorsed thanks to these people. Nevertheless, it is understandable why other people argue against inviting celebrities for promotion purposes. When relying on the popularity of some people to draw more public attention, a relief organization can also be negatively affected by their scandals. Mass public disapproval may arise from a representative getting caught using illegal substances or receiving a speeding ticket, undervaluing the significance of the care organization. Another foreseeable drawback is that the public might take the presence of the celebrity as a mere publicity stunt. Without the evidence of real actions taken to mitigate a problem such as participating in a voluntary fundraiser to help those in need, famous figures could potentially fail to attract the awareness of people to the situation. In conclusion, while some people have their rationale to believe in the success of stars in getting people to pay more attention to aid organizations, I firmly believe that such an approach might not prove to be effective as expected.