In many countries, prison is the most common solution for crimes. However, many think that better education is the most effective way to prevent people from committing further crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In our modern society, the idea of imprisonment is the most commonly utilized solution for the criminals has become a matter of discussion for many. The critics of this view point argue that proper education is the most efficient solution to stop people from again getting involved in criminal activities. I completely agree with the latter view, and in this essay, I shall critically examine the given topic and outline relevant examples. There are numerous advantages of incorporating the education to reduce the crime rates. Firstly, in prison many people already suffer from the severe guilt for their actions, which is evident by the high percentage of depression among the people in the prison. Thus, for these people an educational program that provides the right guidance may prove highly beneficial. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that those criminals who were enrolled in a correctional educational program were 5 times more likely to never commit any sort of crime in comparison to those who did not. Moreover, a large number of the studies have failed to show the efficacy of the current prison system in preventing the former criminals to again committing the crimes. In addition to this, today, in some nations growing number of the prisons has become a serious issue, and in these countries, the government is constantly struggling to reduce the number of prisoners. Therefore, it is wiser to seek an alternative approach, and education could be viewed as an effective solution to this problem. As its effectiveness has been proven by an innumerable amount of studies performed in the last decade. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I am inclined to stand in support of my view that the efficiency and the practicality of utilizing the education as a tool, is the best approach to this global pandemic.