Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resources, while others think that it’s essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While it is believed that money allocation to outer space research is in vain, I concur with the idea of continuing to delve into the cosmos. This essay will shed light on both views and explain why I support the latter. On the one hand, there are two reasons why people consider spending resources on studying the universe to be worthless. Firstly, the government usually expends millions of dollars from the budget to create a shuttle. Instead, this money could be allocated to education and healthcare institutions that will bring instant benefits to society. Secondly, humanity currently experiences some global problems, for example, climate change. The condition of the Earth deteriorates every year, so most resources should be immediately distributed for the planet’s conservation. As for space investigation, this process demands more time and can be easily postponed to a better future. On the other hand, I advocate for space exploration investment as it addresses several of mankind’s problems. As scientists speculate, the Earth will face the depletion of natural resources next 50 years. Studying the universe provides the opportunity to find habitable planets that can supply Earth with additional minerals or even host humanity. Furthermore, new elements could be found in outer space that may revolutionise the whole scientific industry. For instance, there is still no cure for such a disease as HIV, so it is possible to find non-Earth chemical compounds that will lead to medical breakthroughs. In conclusion, humanity is faced with many challenges on its home planet. However, I tend to think that the process of dealing with these difficulties can be sped up by the exploration of outer space.