The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In recent years, knowledge has been made directly accessible for free globally via the Internet through electronic gadgets such as computers and smartphones. Although people can get huge amount of data in a short time using search engines, there are also some drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are a number of benefits of using the Internet as a source of knowledge. Firstly, the world wide web provides its users with an easy access to enormous amounts of information unlike libraries. A student, for instance, does a school project while sitting at home without the need to go to a nearby library. Secondly, using the Internet is advantageous because people can simply use search engines like Google to get the data they need in a short time. This advantage helps them save time as well as effort. On the other hand, one problem of using the Internet is that potentially breaks down. To illustrate this, technology failure happens suddenly which can cause serious problems if you are fully dependent on the web. In contrast, books are more reliable if one is used to reading them. Another possible issue is the false information you might get online. Many forums and websites, for example, provide huge amounts of data, this material, however, there is no fact checking. As a result, despite the merits of technological devices, one should not be fully dependent on them. In conclusion, while using the Internet to get knowledge can have many positive aspects, it can also have disadvantages such as inaccurate knowledge and technology failure.