People should be allowed to obscure their identity online. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that social media and other online platforms have become a powerful communication tool. Some people believe that to maintain the order as well as the security of the online world, people should be transparent about who they are and where they come from. However, I believe that Internet users should have the right to be anonymous. On the one hand, should everyone be provided with an identification to access the virtual world, the incidence of cybercrime and online abuses would significantly diminish. Firstly, granted online access would integrate the two separate worlds, and, what offenders committed in the online realm would not be punished any less severely than for what they did in the actual world. Therefore, potential offenders would be more aware of the possibility of being caught and the subsequent punishments. Moreover, since most cyber-bullies take advantage of multiple online accounts that they use to attack their victims online, the one and only valid online identification would deprive them of the tools of hurting people in the first place. On the other hand, people should have the right to remain synonymous online as they do in reality. Be it online or offline conversations, people only exercise the freedom of speech to the fullest when there are no threats of later punishments by people of authority or of personal revenge. Recent cases of Me too campaigns, which are a response from females and feminists to the oppression and abuses committed by their male employers are a gold example. If they were not allowed to conceal their names and personal information, far less abused women would come forward to bring their super-ordinates’ sexual harassment to light. In conclusion, even though an official online identification could act as a deterrence for online crimes, it undermines human rights to freedom of speech and precludes the possibility of sensitive cases of offences being reported.