Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that substituting apartment buildings for parks and gardens near city centers is the solution to shorten daily commute times. However, in my opinion, there are other solutions that can enhance the efficacy of daily commutes. On one hand, replacing parks and gardens in the city with apartment buildings would lead to increased capacity and efficiency straightforwardly. Firstly, the city's population capacity would rise. With more living space available, there would be room for the construction of new apartments, thereby directly increasing the city's population capacity. Secondly, efficiency in various aspects of life would improve. Shorter distances would reduce the need for people to commute from suburbs to the city for administrative tasks, such as dealing with tax or identity applications, especially across different departments. On the other hand, I believe there are alternative solutions to reduce daily commute times. Firstly, the government should focus on building faster highways between suburbs and the city. People who prefer to live closer to the city do so to enhance efficiency, so the government should plan new, faster city highways to alleviate commute time issues. Moreover, replacing apartments with parks and gardens in the city could lead to negative effects such as noise pollution and a deteriorating environment. Urban green spaces provide city dwellers with places to relax and improve the quality of daily life. However, removing green spaces from the cityscape could lead to less comfortable living environments. In conclusion, I disagree with the proposed solution of reducing commute times by replacing parks and gardens in the city with apartment buildings, as it could have negative effects on the cityscape. Instead, building faster city highways can improve efficiency and help solve the commute time problem.