In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members. Do you agree?

Nowadays, many people go to old-age homes after retirements. However, they should stay with their families as it is their responsibility to look after them. I partially agree with the statement as there are certain conditions when this thing is not possible. To begin with, the individuals living in the retirement homes often feel lonely there. The reason is that they do not get to see their loved-ones, and family-visits are not so frequent. Moreover, living in one's home is a wonderful thing as they get proper care from the adults and love from the grandchildren. For instance, our grandparents lived with us, and my mother and father took care of them completely, and I often went to parks with them due to which they never felt alone. Besides this, many times, the elders need special care which they do not get at these care-homes. This is because there are other oldies living there too, and it is impossible for the nurses look after them individually. Therefore, these places are not perfect for the old-age individuals. However, nowadays, maximum couples are working, and children go to school; thus, most of the times, the elderly members are on their own. Furthermore, many people become tender with ageing, and they become dependent on others for the petty things; thus, it is not easy to manage everything at the houses. In conclusion, although the nursing homes are not the perfect places for the elderly people, it is the responsibility of the families to serve them. That said, this might not be possible at all the times, and sometimes, there is nothing wrong to keep them at care-homes due to changing work culture and the commitments.