Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organization. What might be the cause? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

On the day of globalization the career options are varied, including self-employment which is the today's rising trend. There are several possible causes and downsides of this idea, and I will discuss it now.  Turning to the causes of the rise of self-employment, perhaps it resulted from the desire for self management which leads to more flexible working hours, workload and working environment. For example, the operation time for most of the organizations, strictly starts at eight in the morning while an independent worker can work anytime and anywhere. Furthermore, the supporters of freelance workers propose that it can reduce the living cost such as transportation and accommodation cost as instead of spending for the price of going to the company or buying or renting places to stay, you can choose to work at home or any suitable place. Finally, due to the development of the internet and technologies, the platform provides the individual with more opportunities for doing business, advertiser or connecting people. However, there are a lot of disadvantages of the independence as well. Firstly, it might result in insecurity in on because, most of the cases, the worker solely or mostly contributes to the funds of their career or business. As a result, they are responsible for the risks in doing business, especially, during the economic recess or the outbreak. For instance, during the COVID-19 situation, a number of freelances are affected by the social distancing rules which causes closing of business or deficit. In addition, being your own boss can make you less, be less experienced in large scale task or business as it only goes to the large size company. In summary, the choice of self employment is increasing owing to the flexibility in time, workload and environment, nevertheless, the workers may face the insecurity in business and smaller scale works.