Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is often seen that many people are living with a long life span. With this, others suggest that the retirement age of a person should be gradually raised. I completely disagree with this opinion and I think that one’s retirement age should not be raised. In this essay, the various reasons for this opinion will be explained in detail. First, raising a person’s retirement age does not give a reassurance of work productivity. With the increasing number of physically demanding jobs, an old employee engaged in this kind of work may not be able to fulfil the physical responsibilities for the position. For instance, a person who works in the construction field is required to be well-conditioned and strong to be able to do heavy lifting and building. If a person is at the age of 60 and is still doing the same construction job, it may be challenging for him to complete physical demanding tasks since his body is not as strong compared to his younger days. With this, the efficiency of getting jobs completed will be at risk since some older aged people are not as resilient to engage in physically demanding jobs. The other reason why a person’s retirement age must not be raised is to give opportunities to younger people looking for work. It is a known fact that young people who seek employment find it challenging to get a job. For example, a young educator may find it very difficult to get a job as a teacher-aide in a primary school since most teachers-aide positions may be filled with retirees. With this, the opportunity to gain experience in a primary school setting becomes scarce since job vacancies are not paramount for young job seekers.  In conclusion, extending the age of retirement may cause a decrease in work productivity especially for older people. Furthermore, raising the retirement age may also cause young people to have difficulties in finding job opportunities.