Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Colours have a far reaching impact on the human behaviour and this phenomenon is revealed to the behavioural experts since ages. It has led many people to think that colouring ought to be paid attention to, in certain public places like hospitals and offices. I am in complete accordance with this opinion. I also believe that environment casts a significant ramification on the mood, mental well-being and output of a person. One of the most important explanations of how surroundings impacts the mood of an individual comes from the modern planning of the hospitals and offices. It is a common observation that the colour scheme used in the intensive care units far differs from the rest of the hospital. In other words, soft and light colour combinations are more prevalent in the high dependency wards because they are known to have a soothing effect on the human behaviour and, consequently, help in the mental recovery of the patients. For instance, a recent survey in the Birmingham hospital, university has revealed that the patients nursed in those intensive units which had neutral colours suffered less agitation than those staying in the dark corners. Likewise, interviews of the patients showed that they had more preference for lighter and ambient colours than darker ones. Thus, colour -coding is found to have a strong impact on our behaviours and moods. Another factor that is borne in mind while planning offices, nowadays, is their designing and the prevailing environment. Many studies have shown that colour combinations used in the working places aftermath the efficiency of the employees. In other words, if a person is working in a neat and clean environment that has carefully selected colour combination on the walls, will probably perform his task better. This is because the calming effect of his place of duty can help in reducing the mental fatigue; enhancing the efficiency of the workers. For instance, interior decoration is an emerging field and people are found hiring such experts in designing their factories and offices which indirectly reflects the importance of colour schemes at the working places. In conclusion, I consider that careful planning of the public places is a must as it prevents people from many behavioural issues and work exhaustion. Construction industry should, therefore, pay a heed to use different colour combinations in the interior that best serves the purpose.