Young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities such as hiking and climbing in nature. Why is this? And how can we encourage them to go out?

Nowadays, a large portion of children don’t enjoy doing outdoor activities. For instance, they choose to stay home instead of going on a hike and mountain climbing. I will elaborate on my opinion of the reason and the solution for dealing with this situation. First of all, technology especially the invention of smartphones, computers, and video games, has created a virtual world keeping youth indoors. The instant gratification derived from digital games, online videos and social media, making traditional leisure activities no longer appealing. Moreover, the climate change makes the temperature constantly rising. People couldn’t bear the temperature in nature. Additionally, the academic pressure is heavier than before, the students have to study in their spare time, in addition to schoolwork, parents sign up for many interesting classes for their kids, such as piano and painting. Fortunately, there are methods to improve this situation. Firstly, the education, while the government do restrict school to arranging P.E class at least twice a week, most of the school don’t follow the rule, as a result, many kids don’t have the exercising habit. So the authority should strictly execute the education policy. Secondly, the local government can combine meetups and outdoor activities, for example, hold an event of hiking with strangers so that single men and women can get to know each other while enjoying nature. In conclusion, despite the digital device and climate change keeping people from going out, if the government strengthen and promote outdoor activities, one day the kids will realize how attractive field sports are.