Some people believe that entertainers are paid too much and their impact on the society is negative, while others disagree and believe that they deserve the money they make because of their positive effect on others. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The entertainment world is a glamorous arena and successful performers make a substantial amount. While the average people struggle to make a decent living, movie stars, sports personnel, singers and movie makers have a pile of money. To many, entertainers receive an exorbitant amount and they suggest that people who contribute to make the world a better place, like teachers, police, social workers, scientists, artists and so on should be rewarded with better remuneration. To begin with, the money a popular sportsman makes for a single sporting event is higher than the average salary a teacher earns in several years. One of the reasons for this discrimination is the artificial fence that surrounds the entertainment world. For instance, Leonardo DiCaprio, a renowned actor, earned over $50 million for the movie Inception and the money are still pouring in. Hundreds of border security guards in combination would never be paid this much money in their entire life. Since people love to spend their budget on entertainment and advertisers offer an exorbitant amount to hire a star, money is never a problem for professionals in the entertainment world. However, when a talented screenwriter, a rural sports coach or a writer whose book is adapted to make a movie are poorly paid, the discrimination becomes obvious. I believe that teachers, researchers, talented artists, writers, journalists, police and doctors should be highly paid as well. Their contribution is silently shaping the world we live in for good and we should not let them starve. To conclude, undeniably entertainers are paid an excessive amount of money and there should be a justification for their remuneration, especially in this year of recession and depression. People who work directly to make our society a better place should be highly paid as well.