Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals.Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, the surrounding world has become a great concern for most. The majority consider that the disappearance of flora and fauna is a prime issue whereas others claim that there exist more essential environmental challenges. However, in my opinion, the commonest problem is land degradation. This essay will explore both perspectives before presenting my own view. In conclusion, the destruction of the natural world has always been a hot debate among individuals. The most crucial part of it is the extinction of greenery and animals. However, a few of us argue that there are other factors which should be paid more attention. I think, the most popular one affecting this is desertification. In the future, this may lead to a shortage of food and herbs which can create several health risks not only for people, but also for other occupants of the planet. Firstly, it is generally accepted that the extinction of wildlife can cause huge detrimental effects on the well-being of the earth as the food chain breaks leading to the loss of more creatures and plant life. Consequently, the preservation of natural habitats may become more difficult since these places will lose their ability to regenerate which makes the process irreversible. The fate of a white rhinoceros is an overt example of it because this year the last member of this species died out despite a lot of attends to preserve it. Secondly, according to some, there exist other more serious obstacles which can harm the environment worse such as climate change which in turn heating the globe by unfreezing glaciers of the Arctic. This phenomenon affects the frequency of natural disasters which are flooding the coastal areas more often than before because sea levels are rising as a direct result of global warming. From my perspective, the most important ordeal for humankind together with nature is soil degradation which may occur due to deforestation and this occurrence can contaminate food sources for both plants and animals for erosion of fertile land may destroy the whole existence of our home. As a result, a wide number of habitual and agricultural territories are being ruined severely. For instance, in California, huge scenes of hurricanes and forest fires have occurred in the recent several years which decreased the usability by seventeen per cent.