Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

The latest innovations in the field of information technology has revolutionised our lives altogether. As a result, it is dominating our family, social and working life. In my opinion, I consider that the advantages like easy connectivity and update on latest news are very useful, but a few possible harmful effects ought to be taken into account. Admittedly, the inadvertent use of information technology has brought a few basic problems to the human life. Firstly, people are, nowadays, so obsessed with their social interaction through smartphones that they are not really left with any moment for their families. Many a times, it is observed that parents are busy using the internet or chatting with their friends, instead of giving this valuable time to their children. Resultantly, there is an increasing incidence of people failing in their relationships. Furthermore, easy availability and tough working hours have probably made it more difficult to escape the busy routine and spare time for one's own self or for his family. As customers and employers can approach an employee any point in a day, therefore, people are forced to work 24-7. These working pressures are burdening workers and a few of them are shown to develop the mental and behavioural issues over age, according to a recent survey report, published in Oxford university, UK. Hence, overuse of information technology is associated with a few negatives. Nevertheless, despite the few drawbacks, the most important use of the information technology is that it helps people to stay connected. The inventions of cellular phones and the social networking sites have made it ridiculously simple to interact with our family members and old friends, who are sitting miles away. In other words, virtual meetings almost obviated the need for physical presence or travelling. It is through the blessings of the Information technology that all this can be done easily by sitting at the comfort of our homes. For instance, presently, it just takes a second to make a video call and meet someone that was never heard of in the past. Another important benefit of information technology is that it keeps the people posted regarding the latest news just by the click of a finger. Thus, it is now far easy that one can stay in touch with the latest happenings around him by using his mobile phone and does not really require to sit in front of a television and wait for the news bulletin. To conclude, although use of information technology may have some basic drawbacks, but I strongly believe the benefit that it offers in the form of easy connectivity, flow of information and latest updates far out-numbers the possible negatives.