Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that universities should apply their application process base on the equal numbers of women and men in every subject. I personally disagree with this view. To begin with, the idea that there are equal numbers of male and female students in every subject, which is unrealistic. If a university decided to apply this method, it would need enough applicants of each gender. In reality, there are many courses that are more popular with one gender than the others. For example, nursing course intends to have more female students than male ones because this course requires the detailed and sympathy characteristics, where almost women have these requirements. Apart from these concerns mentioned above, in my opinion, universities should select their student base on their qualifications and their academic backgrounds. By applying this way, both men and women can have the same opportunities. The applicants know they will be successful if they work hard to achieve the best grade during their high school. If a female student is the best candidate to place on a particular course, it is surely wrong to reject her and take a male student, who have fewer qualifications. Moreover, youngsters will study hard to get the best score during their high school, which can help them to enrol in their dream university. To sum up, in my opinion, it would be unfair for people if universities apply the application process regarding to the gender. Students shall be accepted by universities, according to their qualifications.