Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, several children spend most of their time using smartphones on a regular basis. I think this can have impacts on both positive and negative development since there are so many productive as well as unproductive things to do on the mobiles. On the positive side, some online sources provide various kinds of study materials, tutorials, and mock tests. To get access to these, the kids use smart devices since they are spontaneously accessible and connected to the internet. During Covid-19, children were unable to attend their regular classes and that is how they were introduced to the online medium. By utilizing mobile phones, they continued their study and maintained the pace with the time. Still, teenagers find it helpful for their learning. They can also develop their creativity as well as extracurricular activities by watching videos from YouTube. On the other hand, overusing any device can be harmful and make a child addicted to it. As a wide range of poor content is available on digital phones, a teen can be misled easily. After COVID-19, some teenagers have become addicted to smartphones and in most cases, they use them to do unproductive or detrimental things such as making filthy videos, harassing people, bullying fellows, blackmailing others and so on. In fact, these devices are providing negative development more than good ones. Furthermore, it is high time we should focus on the kids and monitor how they are using cell phones and what impacts they are facing due to the misuse of phones. To summarize, it is clear that using smartphones has both good and bad influences on children. So, it is a must to ensure the proper way of utilization.