Write an essay on the following topics (at least 250 words). Every year large numbers of people migrate from one country to another for different reasons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of migration for the individual and for society as a whole.

Each year, a large number of citizens migrate from one country to another because of various reasons. This provides both advantages and disadvantages which will be discussed below. First of all, one of the most obvious advantages of migration for the individual is to explore a new experience. Those who migrate will have more life experiences compared to those who do not. For instance, according to a recent study from the Faculty of Political Science, at Harvard University, 8 out of 10 U.S. students tend to have a better life quality when given an opportunity to travel over the world during their summer vacation. Moreover, living in a society whose tradition is not native can lead migrants to learn a different culture. Travelling across the country creates numerous necessary skills to find a life goal. On the other hand, moving to a new place among strangers can cause a serious culture shock. Some of them can be depressed from adapting themselves to a new circumstance. To illustrate this, a survey recently conducted by the New York Times revealed that two-thirds of American teenagers who attend the internship program abroad with poor preparation will have difficulty adapting themselves to their environment. Moreover, being environed by such a different society forces migrants to be stressed. Without good preparation, they can be looked down on by their surroundings for a different behaviour. To conclude, migrating from one country to another leads to a better experience and more opportunities, meanwhile, it can also bring severe culture shock and depression.