Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of society in which they are sold. to what extent do you agree or disagree.

Owing to the power of advertisements, products have been sold to people not actually requiring it. I agree with this opinion, as commercials are made so glamorous nowadays that they tempt people to actually purchase them. The extensive increase of commercial and advertisements force people to buy items which are not required by them. These firms have identified the psyche of normal people and employ famous actors and sportsman whose life is envied by the general population. They make the commercials so glamorous and out of the world that people in fact become spellbound to buy them. This has resulted in our people becoming brand conscious, consequently with the new launch of Louis Vuitton and Gucci people rush to buy the products even they don’t require it. The advertisement companies, resulting in sales of products are successful in selling unnecessary things as they target young people and teenagers. They have a fragile mind and result in purchasing of unnecessary products. For instance, this is especially true for junk foods, when the famous actors are eating junk food or drinking soft drinks in a commercial but still appear slim and smart. This persuades people that these junk foods are not high calorie and not hazardous to health and they start consuming it. On the contrary, the famous actors might not be using these unhealthy foods and drinks in real life. In conclusion, the advertising industry has turned into mafia which is responsible for selling items not required by the people and this tendency should be curbed at the earliest.