Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been a highly debatable topic about the allocation of punishment to the culprits. Many intellectuals are in favour to the fixed punishment for the different crimes; while, others opine that the jurisdiction should consider all the factors of the crime and the verdict should be based on it. This essay will discuss both these views, along with my opinion further. To begin with, the former view is radically emphasizing the predefined verdict of various episodes of crime. This optimistic view is promoting the minimal diversity in the punishment. Consequently, the time consuming judicial system will become more productive and it will suppress the crime rate at a great extent. For instance, the fixed punishment would maintain unbiased working culture; hence, the faith of the people in the legislation will increase. As a result, the crime rate will decline by imposing the common policy for all the criminals. On the other hand, the latter view is portraying the flexibility of the legislative system for the variety of offences. This view is more concern about the graveness of the crime and accordingly the culprit should be punished. Moreover, the environment of the crime scene and motive is also considered for the judgement. Although, such method of jurisdiction is more time consuming, the innocent person could be saved. For example, the murder done by a person during his self-defence and an intended assassination need different point of views and punishments. Thus, the dynamic laws could mitigate the potential crime effectively. In conclusion, the verdicts of the criminal activities have great impacts on the criminal activities. In my opinion, the dynamic characteristics of the jurisdictions are more lucrative to the society to curb the criminal activities effectively and efficiently.