Some people think that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the achievements of ancient cultures, and overvalues our achievements. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that the ancient period is the time of ignorance. However, others criticize the idea because it downgrades the value of the time and overestimates modern achievements. In my opinion, ancient cultures are as great and prosperous as modern cultures in that they have provided a solid foundation for further development. In the modern era, of course, it is undeniable fact that several advancements have been made in every aspect of life. Firstly, literacy has increased. It means more people are accessible to books and cutting edge information. In Korea, for example, the literacy rate is over 95%. Thus, a majority is knowledgeable or at least accessible to information if they want. Secondly, science has progressed in tremendous ways. With the help of technology development and enormous studies on human bodies and medication, the average longevity now is almost 100 years. Besides, the Internet makes us keep in touch with the person on the other part of the world and provide various information. Moreover, even online shopping is possible. Third, art became various. The artists combine technology into their masterpiece, like Back Nam Jun, who was a world-widely known video artist. Also, fashion changes according to the season, trend, or targeted customers. Therefore, it is firmly true that a great deal of advancement has been made in modern culture and it makes up prosperous. However, in the ancient era, there were still valuable and remarkable cultures and it became a precious foundation for the current developed culture. First, alphabet and symbols for words invented. Based on nature and the surrounding environment, they systematized the expressions. In the ancient Mesopotamian civilization, for example, even abstract ideas are described through a written message. Thus, it was a great starting point to communicate in written form and remain useful information for others. Second, the ancient people provided the ground for scientific development. They had their techniques of agriculture with accumulated experiences such as preserving the crops under the ground for cooler temperature. Later, it became the origin of refrigerators. Third, different types of arts had been produced and it inspired several artists. From drawings on the cave wall to accessories with wonderful decorations were crafted. These influenced artists, designers. Thus, it is very clear that the ancient culture gave a great foundation for current development. In conclusion, given that plenty of influences on modern culture, ancient culture itself has great value. Those who under evaluate the ancient culture as ignorance is not considering their contribution to the modern world. Thus, we need to appreciate the great passed down cultures and estimate its value correctly.