Eco-tourism often involves visiting remote and fragile ecosystems, which raises concerns about the impact on local cultures and indigenous communities. What problems can this cause? How can these problems be resolved?

In contemporary society, the proliferation of visits to remote and fragile places hovers at a high level. The phenomenon causes a significant amount of disadvantages, and various resolutions can be taken to address them. There is no denying that numerous adverse effects have been brought via ecosystem tourism. One is that tours inevitably bring waste and pollution, and I believe that this cannot always be compensated by the influx in expenditure. Infrastructure facilities such as hotels, restaurants and train lines are built, often snatch ecologically areas, not to mention there are irreversible resource waste, which can have devasting impacts on the natural environment. The beautiful surroundings in Iceland is a relevant case in point, having been damaged by the trekking of millions of tourists. Another is that remote regions are often culturally sensitive, and commercialization can damage local ’ way of life. Seeing religious icons being sold in less developed locals to foreign tourists can be dispiriting, and can weaken their cultural meaning and importance. Several measures should be adopted to resolve the above problems, involving efforts from governments and the masses. One immediate practical solution is implementing comprehensive and strict regulations for travel companies and human beings, which can curb the inappropriate behaviors and hinder the ecological footprint of tourism. Secondly, school education and banners can educate tourists about the importance of respecting local cultures and ecosystems. These ways can lead to more responsible behaviors. Moreover, ensuring that local communities are actively involved in and have control over green tourism projects can help distribute benefits more evenly and preserve local cultures. For instance, in 2020, the official staff of Xin Jiang produced a series of videos on social media about the manufacture of cotton and to advertise eco-travel, which in turn helped Xin Jiang earn funds to refurbish the ecosystem. In conclusion, there are lots of demerits of sustainable tourism including the destruction of the environment, shortage of resources and cultural dilution. But luckily, several resolutions have been formulated that governments and individuals should have a joint force to solve problems.