In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, people are more interested in doing their shopping at big malls rather than visiting neighbourhood stores. In my opinion, this behaviour is advantageous for not only the people, but also for the government. To begin with, shopping at malls presents the customers with lots of benefits. Firstly, they get to buy things at a low cost when compared to the traditional standalone stores. This is feasible because, the big stores cut the cost by eliminating the middlemen between a store and a manufacturer. For example, retail chains like Sam's Club, operate with the motto "Save money, Live better" and pass on the benefits of low cost to their customers. Secondly, the customers get all their needs in one place. It saves them a tremendous amount of money and time. Moreover, malls also entertain their customers by organizing a variety of fun activities and promotional events. Consequently, families plan their activities in such a way that they complete the shopping and at the same time get entertained. For instance, all major malls have cinema halls inside their campus. As a result, people spend less time in travel from one place to another. Additionally, shopping at big stores benefits the government in various ways. With the organized retail sector, tax collection becomes easy for the government, which is not the case with small shops who dodge paying their taxes properly. Also, the bigger malls provide more job opportunities to their communities. To illustrate this, a recent study on shopping malls, shows that, employment opportunities increase by 15% in a community whenever a new mall opens. To conclude, it is evident that people and the government benefit immensely from shopping in huge malls when compared to the corner stores in society.